Scenario

You've run into some problems- a speaker pulls out due to a busy schedule, or maybe a particular session doesn't quite fit into your summit anymore. Fret not, cancelling a session is simple!

Quick start

Once deleted, sessions can't be recovered. Please ensure you download any attendee lists from any sessions that already have registrations but you would like to cancel. If you're uncertain about how to export data from a session, you can check out our article here.

If you're just looking to remove a session from your public event schedule temporarily, you can make the session inactive instead (Content > Talks > ... > Edit Record > uncheck Active).

Now that we've covered some of the basics- let's dive straight into what options you have when deleting talks:

Deleting just one session at a time

  1. Head to your event's Dashboard.
  2. Click on Content > Talks.
  3. Select the '...' next to the specific talk you want to cancel and select Delete.
  4. When prompted, select Yes.

Deleting more than one session at a time

  1. Head to your event's Dashboard.
  2. Click on Content > Talks.
  3. Check the box next to each session you want to delete.
  4. A button labelled Delete Selected will become clickable at the bottom of the page. You can go ahead and click on it.
  5. Fill in your password and click Delete to continue.

Deleting all of your sessions at once

  1. Head to your event's Dashboard.
  2. Click on Content > Talks.
  3. Select Delete All.
  4. Enter your password and click Delete.

What now?

Note: HeySummit will send out emails notifying your attendees that the session has been cancelled, unless the 'Cancelled Talk' email template was made inactive already. If you're unsure about how to make an email template active/inactive, you can have a look at our helpful article here.

If you delete a session that has no attendee has registered for yet, it will no longer show up on the Session list under Content > Talks entirely. 

If you delete a session that attendees had already registered for, these deleted sessions will show grayed out at the bottom of your Content > Talks list.

However, you can hide these from your view by checking the Hide deleted talks option at the top of the page. This will reload the page and you'll no longer see them. 

In both of these deletion cases, the sessions are removed entirely from the public event schedule.