Scenario

While reading through our Event Basics settings, you would like to know what happens if you check the "Require Email Up-Front?" option. 


Quick start

While in Event Setup > Checkout Experience > Require email up-front. 

When enabled, at the very beginning of registration, a user would have to input their email address before proceeding.


This is what this step will look like for the user:

Once they've filled in their email, they'll be able to select their ticket and move on through the rest of the registration process to complete their order. 

Enabling this setting means that if they bail out of registration at any point after, without completing their purchase, you'll now have the potential to follow up with them.

This setting will also remove the Terms and Conditions at the end of registration since your attendees are opting in by entering their email addresses.

We automatically send out an email to users who haven't completed registration for a ticket 2 hours after they originally started. Check out our email template for this under Emails > Attendee Emails with the subject line "Don't forget your ticket." To learn more about what emails we send, visit this article. 

You could also choose to follow up with them off-platform by exporting the attendees' CSV under Reporting > Attendees > Export. Here you will see the attendees with the status 'Registered,' 'Checkout - Selected Ticket,' and 'Checkout - Selected Content,' who do not hold a ticket. You can then import the relevant email addresses into your email service provider to email them manually.